Herb Chicken Wings

I was excited to make bbq chicken wings and got this powder from an Asian shop as my aunt told me to and clearly it wasn’t Bbq and it tasted like herbs!

But still tasted nice and I am on the hunt for the perfect bbq recipe.

Ingredients;

  • 12 chicken wings, you can have them with skin on if you want to,
  • Bbq Mexican powder,
  • olive oil,
  • yoghurt,
  • green chilli paste and
  • lemon juice.

You will find this powder or a similar powder at any Asian food shop.

image

METHOD;

Add 2.5 tablespoons of the powder in a dish, juice of half a lemon and half a pot of original yoghurt. I used what was in the fridge, the Pakeeza original. I added too much of the powder, do NOT make this mistake because it tasted ever so salty when I tasted the paste. I was too scared to tell my mum because she would say I added salt to the paste, so I added around 2 teaspoons of sugar, which didn’t make a difference. 😥

image

Mix the above till you have a nice paste and add 2 tbsp olive oil. Mix it all well and add 2tbsp green chilli paste. Mums idea to get rid of the salty taste. But it actually made it taste better and it wasn’t even that chilly in the end.

image.jpg

 

One by one take a wing and cover it well with the paste and add into another dish that you can put in the fridge for minimum two hours.

image

image

Pour remaining mixture onto the wings and put into fridge for minimum two hours.

Once you take it out of the fridge put onto a ovenproof dish and put in the oven for around 30 mins at 180c.

By the time I could take a pic my mum had taken few wings out for her friend. 👿

They tasted nice and not even salty like it did at the beginning because whilst in the oven the yoghurt and the water that chicken releases washed all the extra powder.

Did not taste like bbq hence I named this recipe herb chicken. Tasted perfect with ketchup, family used nandos peri peri sauce because they like their food spicer than me. 😥

image.jpg

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

