Date and Walnut cake

I love my aunts cake and walnut cake, but was never given the recipe. So I made this from another aunts recipe and oh my gawddd it tastes lovely. I love dates, not a fan of nuts so next time I’ll make my own little cake without nuts and a separate one for family.

Ingredients;

310ml boiling water

14 dates you can have more it’s up to you

walnuts or any nuts you prefer

1tsp bicarbonate of soda

125g butter

I put in 250g castor sugar thinking the dates will make it sweet, but it was fine not that sweet.

1 egg

1tsp vanilla essence

1 tsp baking powder

300g plain flour

2 tablespoon milk

Put the boiling water into a pan

image

 

Add the bicarbonate of soda to the water.

image

 

Chop the dates into small pieces or quarters. Chop the nuts too make sure they are not too small otherwise they will sink to the bottom of the cake.

 

image

Add the nuts and dates to the water. Leave the water on the stove on low heat, VERY low heat.

image

Cream the butter and sugar well. I’m still old fashioned prefer creaming it with a spoon than a mixer, I think it makes it more fluffier when doing it by hand. Each to their own.

image

Add the egg, baking powder, milk and vanilla essence. Mix everything well for a minute.

image

Add flour and mix well. Yes it will look like dough don’t worry and DONT add another egg, I was going to do that thinking it’s not like batter. I kneaded the dough so everything was mixed well and no flour was left out.

image

Add the date and nut mixture to the dough. Stir until the ingredients are mixed with the dough evenly.

image

 

image

 

Pour the mixture into a greased tin and put in the oven for 25 minutes at 200°c.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

