Healthy protein flapjacks

This was an experiment and loved the outcome.I had enough of partner spending £2+ a day for a small bar from the shops everyday and I’m trying to eat healthy at the moment and craving sweet things and not eating it, is a struggle. So I decided to make healthy flapjacks. I tried it the first time round without any maple syrup, which made the flapjack really crumbly. The second time round I added maple syrup, just a bit to get the stickiness. Also the second time round I forgot to add almond butter, which means adding less syrup! I used rolled oats first time which made the texture very powdery, so used jumbo oats which helped a lot.

I have mixed the pictures below from first and second time, forgot to take picture with honey etc inside the bowl second time round because I was missing my gym class. 🙈😥

Also don’t have exact measurements because it’s up to you, how many nuts you want inside it, how healthy you want to be, how much protein you want etc.

Ingredients 

Jumbo rolled oats-sainsbury Scottish ones were the ones I used.

Chia seeds

Flaxseed -I purchased Linwood milled organic flaxseed sunflower and pumpkin seed. It’s really good as it’s all powder and easy to use and can’t even taste it that much but at least you’re getting your omega into your diet.

Protein powder- I used vanilla flavour,this is optional.

Almonds and pistachios-my mum has a jar of these all thinly sliced, so thought why not.

Cinnamon powder

Maple Syrup- Canadian maple syrup if possible can be found in Waiterose and Sainsbury

Lucy bee coconut oil

Honey, try to use Manuka if possible.

Almond butter

Milk

METHOD

I used around half a packed of the oats, 3 scoops of protein powder, the other dry ingredients I used according to my taste. I’m not fond of nuts in food so I put less in. Put all the dry ingredients in a bowl.

image

 

 

Mix everything properly so it’s evenly distributed.

image

Once everything is mixed thoroughly, on the other side get a small pot add around 7 tablespoons of the coconut oil and on low heat let it melt.

image

One the oil has melted pour on to the dry ingredients and add all the wet ingredients. Don’t add too much maple syrup if you’re trying to be healthy. Add more of the almond butter around 4-5 tablespoons. Honey around 2-3 tablespoons. Syrup I’d say around 4-6 tablespoons, if you’ve used almond butter I’d only put in 3. Just see how the texture is once you’ve mixed it, if you think it’s not sticky enough add more oil and butter or honey but not syrup. I added around 4 tablespoons of milk.

image

 

Yes, I had to use my hands to mix the above. This is the best option so you don’t have too much syrup or honey in one of your bites. You need it all to mixed properly and with a spoon I noticed the dry ingredients stayed at the bottom of the bowl. So use your hands my lovelies 🙂 ( this was from the first time I tried)

image

Once everything is mixed and you’re happy with your mixture, get a tray, add greaseproof paper and put the mixture into the tray. Flatten the top with a spoon so it’s not uneven.

image

Put in the oven at 180° for 15 minutes only. The sides will look like its burnt but don’t  worry it’s not and you can’t even taste it.( I added chopped dates on my side of the share because I was too lazy to half the mixture and mix it in)

image

If you want to treat yourself, melt some dark chocolate in the microwave and drizzle on top. Voila 😀

image

image

Leave a comment